August 6, 2021

Metro Erie Chapter of the Pa. Sports Hall of Fame honors high school athletes

(By Tom Reisenweber, Erie Times-News)

The Metro Erie Chapter of the Pennsylvania Sports Hall of Fame handed out scholarships to 28 local athletes on Wednesday totaling more than $10,000 during a special presentation at the Shrine Club.

The Hall of Fame Committee normally holds a student-athlete banquet each June, but with COVID-19 concerns, the banquet was canceled. The Hall of Fame banquet was moved to Sept. 22 which would have been right in the school year for the graduates.

A special presentation was held on Wednesday to honor the 28 athletes. All 28 received scholarship money and several were awarded major scholarships.

The 14 boys to receive scholarships were: 

• Joseph Armanini (Cathedral Prep)

• Bryce Maleski (Corry)

• J.J. Woodward (Erie)

• Zach Buckner (Fairview)

• Max Endres (Fort LeBoeuf)

• Josh Salisbury (General McLane)

• Todd Essman (Girard)

• Sam Howell (Harbor Creek)

• Andrew Kightlinger (Iroquois)

• Caleb Brobst (McDowell)

• Jeff Giannelli (Mercyhurst Prep)

• Carter Hassenplug (North East)

• Malachi Schaefer (Northwestern)

• David DeFazio (Seneca)

The 14 girls to receive scholarships were:

• Braydin Gwin (Corry)

• Justice Markko-Sloan (Erie)

• Maddison Hayes (Fairview)

• Anna Bayer (Fort LeBoeuf)

• Elena Halmi (General McLane)

• Chyna Hicks (Girard)

• Kylie Humphreys (Harbor Creek)

• Alizabeth Milner (Iroquois)

• Natalie Brosig (McDowell)

• Ashley VanDamia (Mercyhurst Prep)

• Kameran Mayes (North East)

• Jessamine Saxton (Northwestern)

• Samantha Hartman (Seneca)

• Rachel Majewski (Villa Maria)

The committee also handed out major scholarships, including several memorial scholarships. The Ron Costello memorial scholarships went to Armanini and Endres, while the Erie Otters Brad Boyes scholarship was awarded to Hassenplug. The major scholarships for female athletes included the T.J. Guthleben memorial scholarships to Markko-Sloan and Brosig and the Marsha Marsh Community Service awards to Hicks and Bayer.